Toll Free : 1800-425-8357

All About Pancha Bhoota Sthalams

The sacred Pancha Bhoota temples are dedicated to the all-powerful Lord Shiva. The word Pancha means five and the word Bhoota represent elements, put together these two together and you get the five elements basic elements:
· Earth(Dhrati)
· Fire(Agni)
· Water(Neer)
· Sky (Aakash)
· Air(Vayu)

Famous hindu mythology states that the 5 Shiva lingas found in the five Panch Bhootas represent each of these five above mentioned elements. Many people combine a kanyakumari trip plan to visit the sacred temples at the same time. Let’s take a look at each of these five sacred temples:

· Ekambareshwar temple.
Located in Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu, this temple represents earth or dharti. The deity in this temple is worshipped by the devotees as Ekambareshwar temple. Interestingly the Shiv linga in the temple is referred to as Prithvi Lingam.

· Jambukeshwar temple
This temple is located on the outskirts of Tiruvanaika, it is said to represent water or neer element. Interestingly, this temple is devoted to Shiva and Parvati, who are worshipped as Jambukeshwar and Akhilandeshwari by the devotees.

· Annamalaiyar Temple
This sacred temple is located in Tiruvannamalai in Tamil Nadu and represents the element fire. According to the beliefs of the devotees, Lord Shiva is said to have appeared here to bless his devotees in the form of Ardhanarishwar. There are several kanyakumari tour operators that can help you plan a visit to these temples in no time.

· Srikalahasti temple
This temple is located in Andhra Pradesh and is said to represent the element air or vayu. This temple pays homage to Lord Shiva and Parvati in the form of Srikalahastishwar and Gnanaprasunambika.

· Chidambaram Temple
This temple is located in Tamil Nadu and represents the element sky or aakash. Lord Shiva is represented in the form of Nataraj in this sacred temple.

According to ancient Hindu mythology, the different species were brought forth on the planet by a combination of the different 5 elements. The manifestations of the five basic elements of nature lead to the creation of an equilibrium of the body that is represented by the Pancha Bhoota Sthalams. Many devotees flock to these sacred temples in search of enlightenment and peace. Some people also offer a special offering in return for forgiveness of committed sins or while praying for special requests.

It is interesting to note how the Pancha Bhootha Sthalams still hold a sacred place in the hearts of Hindus all over the country. Even with many people straying away from the path of true devotion, the number of devotees visiting these sacred temples has not gone down. The architecture of these five temples is almost similar in nature. It is almost as if a single temple has been broken down and set up in five different locations. Many devotees spend their old age visiting these temples in an attempt to wipe their slate clean of all committed sins or bad deeds.

The age old traditions observed at each of these temples are a testament to how Hinduism is still a very important part of people’s lives even today. The Sivarathri and Karthigai Deepam are celebrated with much aplomb at these temples in order to enter the graces of Lord Shiva himself. Plan a visit to these sacred temples today to feel the presence of divinity in your life and add on to your kanyakumari tour plan.

About the Author